Tone of the Day: brooding

 

This Modest Mouse song because how amazing is the title Night on the Sun. Listen to the lyrics and the crashing of the cymbals.

“So, turn off the light ’cause it’s night of the sun
You’re hopelessly hopeless
I hope so, for you
Freeze your blood and then stab it into in two
Stab your blood into me and blend”

Someone recently asked me why I like this song so much and I have to say that I veer strongly towards melodrama.  I like the “hopelessly hopeless” of it. It’s the lyrics and the depth of meaning, like poetry, but here made more concrete with the music and drive of instruments. You can dare to assume and develop your own level of meaning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lyrics, Poetry

Leave a Reply

