Alkemya

n1186004848_30133974_6399903

My friend Bilen went to Asmara, Eritrea and brought me back a beautiful, dare I say organic, scarf. It is the color of turquoise-tranquil-waters. It’s soft and the color is inspiring as is the boutique itself, Alkemya by Nadia Biasiolo. She is Italian and third generation born in Eritrea. As you can see from the photo above she makes a variety of drapes, coverlets, and scarfs all with pure Eritrean cotton, hand spun, and woven dyed on a traditional loom. I thought my scarf was special when I first laid eyes on it, but the more I learned about it, the more enchanted I became with Alkemya products and with Nadia’s commitment to local quality. Besides Bilen didn’t know which color to buy me and Nadia asked for my name and insisted that I have the ocean-colored one, intuitively. That in and of itself was a precious gift!

Contact Nadia at: alkemya@gemel.com.er

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

