Happy Birthday Mama!

Before I was somebody’s chicken, I was my mama’s duckling. A baby duck that used to pout her lips and quack around the room in a sulk. Granted I was two and three at the time and damn cute, but it’s a memory my mother likes to conjure up. Today is her birthday and I am a nation away from her. I woke her up this morning to a little bird call, full of love and well wishes. She boasted that her professor (she’s a PhD candidate) told her just yesterday that she looks like a sprite 40. Us Mexican’s have some good jeans! I love you mom. You gave me the most amazing gift of life, love, and books. Mama nerd, baby nerd. xo. M

Leave a comment

Filed under Community

Leave a Reply

