Res Dances

The Santa Ynez band of Chumash Indians were like my second family. I grew up going to Reservation dances with my cousins during spring breaks. Last night while at a Star Magazine party, I heard Salt and Pepa’s “Push It.” It through me into the vortex of buried memories. Yes. The Reservation and all those tall indian boys doing the Kid and Play and break dancing. Yes. The girls with their bangs, looking Mexican. Yes. Our host (RIP) Levi walked us around with his denim jacket on, rolling cigarettes. This particular dance that comes to mind happened before junior high. The Res hall was packed with kids dancing,  spilling outdoors. It was the first time I danced to Tigra and Bunny in a parking lot, looking up at the blanket sky and stars above. I was at a Reservation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Community, Images, Journalists

Leave a Reply

